Sidney Community School District Board of Directors Regular Meeting December 16, 2019 5:30 pm 2754 Knox Road

Call meeting to order and determine quorum

President Alisha Ettleman called the meeting to order at 5:30 pm. Directors present were Alisha Ettleman, Matt McLaren, Renee Johnson and Justin Travis. Director Shad Smith arrived at 5:32 pm. Also present were Superintendent Tim Hood, Secondary Principal Kim Payne, Elementary Principal Shannon Wehling, Business Manager Jennifer Maher and Board Secretary Janet Lemrick.

The Pledge of Allegiance was recited.

Recognition of guests

There were seven guests in the audience. No public comment.

Approval of agenda

Motion to approve the amended consent agenda was made by Director McLaren with second by Director Smith. The motion included the addition of bill to be paid to Kent Larson in the amount of \$60.00 for a summer camp. Motion carried. Ayes 5 Nays 0

Reports

Mrs. Wehling presented the elementary report.

Mrs. Payne presented the secondary report.

Mr. Tim Lemrick, Transportation Director, presented the transportation report.

Mr. Hood presented the superintendent report.

The district was notified by the state athletic association that due to 9-12 enrollment high school football would be moved to 11 man for the 2020-21 school year. Mr. Hood will appeal this decision due to the fact that a contract for Hamburg high school students attending Sidney next year has not yet been signed.

Discussion

Iowa Jobs for Americas Graduates (IJAG) representatives Laurie Phelan and Allie Mahoney-Doran met with the board and discussed their program.

Approval of the School Budget Review Committee for increasing enrollment, open enrollment out and LEP instruction beyond 5 years in the amount of supplemental aid for the 2020-21 budget request was discussed.

Tim Oswald, Managing Director of Public Finance Department with Piper Jaffary gave the board an update on the bond.

Increasing the bank depository amounts due to the sale of bonds was discussed.

Action Items

Approval of IJAG program

Motion to approve the IJAG program for qualifying students in grades 9-12 was made by Director McLaren with second by Director Smith. Motion carried. Ayes 5 Nays 0

School Budget Review Committee (SBRC)

Motion to approve the request for supplemental aid in the amount of \$87,568 for the 2020-21 school year for increasing enrollment, open enrollment out and LEP instruction beyond 5 years was made by Director Johnson with second by Director McLaren. Motion carried. Ayes 5 Nays 0

Approval of Bond Selling Process, Financial Advisor Agreement and Potential Timelines

Motion to approve the bond selling process, financial advisor agreement with Piper Jaffary, and timelines was made by Director Travis with second by Director McLaren. Motion carried. Ayes 5 Nays 0 Approval of Increasing the Bank Depository Due to Selling of Bonds

Motion to increase the bank depository amounts at Arbor Bank, Great Western Bank and ISJIT to \$10 million due to the selling of bonds was made by Director Smith with second by Director Travis. Motion carried. Ayes 5 Nays 0

Signature Cards Name Change

Motion to drop Erika Graham form Great Western Bank signature card and add Matt McLaren to the signature card was made by Director Smith with second by Director Johnson. Motion carried. Ayes 5 Nays 0 Resignation of Personnel

Motion to accept the resignation of Teena Houston, Jr/Sr Para, was made by Director McLaren with second by Director Travis. Motion carried. Ayes 5 Nays 0

Motion to accept the resignation of Reggie Moreland as regular bus route driver was made by Director Johnson with second by Director McLaren. Motion carried. Ayes 5 Nays 0

Motion to accept the resignation of Brandee Blackey, Elementary Para, was made by Director McLaren with second by Director Travis. Motion carried. Ayes 5 Nays 0

Motion to accept the resignation of Toni Moreland, Elementary Para, was made by Director Travis with
second by Director McLaren. Motion carried. Ayes 5 Nays 0
Approval of Personnel
Motion to hire Ariel Birkby, Jr/Sr High cook, was made by Director Johnson with second by Director
McLaren. Motion carried. Ayes 5 Nays 0
Motion to hire Kelly Barrett, Elementary Para, was made by Director Travis with second by Director
McLaren. Motion carried. Ayes 5 Nays 0
Motion to hire Donnie Sears, Bus Route Driver, was made by Director McLaren with second by Director
Travis. Motion carried. Ayes 5 Nays 0
Board Comments
No board comments.
Celebrations
Congratulations to:
Amy McClintock – Iowa High School Class 1A Volleyball Coach of the Year
Olivia Larsen and Kelsey Hobbie – All State Class 1A Volleyball first team selection and Maddy Duncan –
All State Class 1A second team selection
Olivia Larsen- Player of the Year for Class 1A IHS Volleyball
Noah Jorgenson-2019 AllKMA Boys Cross Country Team
Thomas Wilson-KMA lineman of the year
Kelsey Hobbie and Olivia Larsen-Des Moines Register Class 1A Volleyball team
Elementary Winter Concert-Wendy Widger
Jr/Sr High Winter Concert-Nicole Zavadil
Presley Brumbaugh-signed to play volleyball at Southeast Community College in Beatrice Nebraska
Christian Harris, Myrna Rodriguez, Samuel Daly, Ashton Sheldon, RJ Rost and Savannah Hall-selected to
participate in the University of Nebraska at Omaha Honor Choir/Band
Christian Harris selected SWIBA 9-10 th grade Honor Band
Brad Johnson and the Culinary Arts students for catering the staff breakfast
Zayne Osborn bandana fundraiser
<u>Closed Session 21.5(j)</u>
Motion to go into closed session per Iowa Code 21.5(j) at 6:51 pm was made by Director Smith with
second by Director McLaren. Motion carried. Ayes 5 Nays 0
The Board returned to open session by consensus at 7:10 pm.
Adjournment
Motion to adjourn at 7:10 pm was made by Director McLaren with second by Director Travis. Motion
carried. Ayes 5 Nays 0

Board President

Board Secretary